

## AI Education Trust board of directors names scholarship recipients

## September 02, 2010 - Northern New England

The Appraisal Institute Education Trust board of directors approved the winners of several scholarships on Aug. 10: Minorities and Women AI Designation Scholarship, AIET Minorities and Women Education Scholarship, AIET AI Designation Scholarship, AIET Graduate Scholarship and AIET Undergraduate Scholarship.

Two achievement awards also were announced. The Pritchett Award, which recognizes a Designated member of the Appraisal Institute for outstanding contributions to the appraisal education or mentoring with a focus on litigation and condemnation, went to John Maggi, SRA. The George H. Schmutz Publication Award, which recognizes an outstanding technical manuscript or publication on real estate valuation regardless of the author's occupation, affiliation or publisher, was awarded to Marvin Wolverton, PhD, MAI. Each received \$1,000.

The Minorities and Women AI Designation Scholarship is intended to assist minorities and women Associate members of the Appraisal Institute achieve an MAI or SRA designation. Two to four recipients were chosen from each region, and each received \$320 to \$675.

The winners are: Michelle Cappo, Eagle, Idaho; Jeanine Kraus, Modesto, Calif.; Margaret Lai, Sammamish, Wash.; Karen Storm, Wilsonville, Ore.; Jessica Mills, Des Moines, Iowa; Megan Warner, Olathe, Kan.; Kari Jacobson, Duluth, Minn.; Allison Smalley, Jackson, Wyo.; Donna Cavallaro, South Portland, Maine; Amy Holt, Mayville, N.Y.; Michelle Madayag, Seattle; Sarah Land, Evansville, Ind.; Amy Rawson, Charlestown, Ind.; Jennifer Steveson, Hampton, Va.; Therese Appelbe, Phoenix; Melissa Burlison, Carlsbad, Calif.; Robin Meissner, Tucson, Ariz.; Sally Rea, Ventura, Calif.; Shawne Fox, Keller, Texas; Francis Kafor, Allen, Texas; Laura Lacy, San Angelo, Texas; Tiffany Gibbons Marsh, Memphis, Tenn.; Camille Posey, Pelham, Ala.; Kristi Rikard, Horn Lake, Miss.; Angela Russell, Knoxville, Tenn.; Stephanie Baleotis, SRA, Pompano Beach, Fla.; Vivian Benton, Gulf Breeze, Fla.; Carlos Diez, Coral Gables, Fla.; and Carlos Ortiz, Miami.

The AIET Minorities and Women Education Scholarship is for minorities and women students pursuing academic degrees in real estate appraisal or related fields. Each recipient received \$1,000.

The winners are: Mark Allen, Arlington, Texas, University of Texas at Arlington; Stephanie Baleotis, SRA, Pompano Beach, Fla., Florida Atlantic University; Catherine Dunn, Chicago, Roosevelt University; Gulnaz Hossain, Chicago, Roosevelt University; Judy Jacas, Fort Lauderdale, Fla., Marylhurst University; Katlin Jackson, Seattle, University of Washington; Terry Louie, San Antonio, Texas, Texas A&M University; Tyler Nicholas, Stillwater, Okla., Oklahoma State University; Tiffany Sliger, Oak Ridge, Tenn., Marylhurst University; and Mary Kate Swann, Tampa, Fla., University of Florida.

The AIET AI Designation Scholarship is for Associate members who are active in appraising and require financial assistance to take Appraisal Institute courses leading to the MAI or SRA designations. Recipients received \$550 to \$650. The winners are: Mark Abbotoy, Hartsville, Tenn.; Robert Elliott, Spartanburg, Tenn.; Willem Faber, Lake Mary, Fla.; and Thomas Muller, Overland Park, Kan.

The AIET Graduate Scholarship is awarded on the basis of academic excellence to graduate students concentrating in real estate appraisal, land economics, real estate or allied fields. Each recipient was awarded \$2,000. They are: Robert Poirer, Texas A&M University; Adam Simensky, Columbia University; Paul Truba, University of Denver; Kristen Wiehe, Texas A&M University; and Chance Williams, Texas A&M University.

The AIET Undergraduate Scholarship is awarded on the basis of academic excellence to undergraduate students concentrating in real estate appraisal, land economics, real estate or allied fields. Each recipient was awarded \$1,000. They are: Andrew Bowers, Virginia Tech; Mark Daniel, University of Georgia; Jeff Doan, Washington State University; David Hanna, Florida State University; Jonathan Jaw, University of California-Berkeley; Nick Kunz, Arizona State University; Eddie Lee, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Benjamin McFadden, Murray State University; Brandon Moss, Lone Star College; and Alan Pritchard, Old Dominion University.

New England Real Estate Journal - 17 Accord Park Drive #207, Norwell MA 02061 - (781) 878-4540