

NAIOP honors select members at its annual meeting on December 12th

January 02, 2008 - Front Section

At its annual meeting on December 12th, NAIOP Mass. presented special awards to select members who have made significant contributions to NAIOP.

The President's Award was given to a small group of members who have helped launch one of the chapter's most exciting initiatives, the Developing Leader Steering Committee. This steering committee has overseen the creation and development of the Developing Leaders program, planning special events and programs tailored to the unique needs of commercial real estate professionals ages 35 and younger. Although the committee just began this spring, it has already presented four very successful events, as well as drawing in almost a hundred new members to NAIOP. The nine members of the steering committee who received the President's Award are:

- *Paul Mahoney, Anglo Irish Bank, who is chairman of the committee,
- *Kate LeBlanc, Haley Aldrich, vice-chair of the committee
- *Jennifer Moore, Sasaki Associates, programs liaison
- *Michael Olson, Jones Lang LaSalle, membership liaison
- *Matt Giffune, Jones Lang LaSalle
- *Jacob Grossman, Bay North Capital
- *Brandon Kelly, RJ Kelly Company
- *Joe Morrison, Crosspoint Associates
- *Nathan Riner, Forest City Enterprises

The chapter's Public Affairs Award was given to two teams who have devoted considerable time and energy to two major issues this year. The first was for the nine members who worked on the Mass Highway Permit Regulations, which bring much-needed clarity to the permitting process. Receiving the 2007 Public Affairs Award for Work on Mass Highway Permit Regulations were:

- *Norman Bartlett, Bowditch & Dewey, LLP
- *John Bechard, Vanasse Hangen Brustlin, Inc.
- *Richard Bryant, Tetra Tech Rizzo
- *Steven Davis, Rackemann Strategic Consulting, Inc.
- *Christopher Emilius, GEOD Consulting, Inc.
- *Martin Healy, Goodwin Procter LLP
- *Charles Kalauskas, BSC Group, Inc.
- *Douglas Landry, Vanasse Hangen Brustlin, Inc.

*Scott Weiss, National Development

The second group was of six members who went above and beyond in their work on Chapter 91, the recipients of the 2007 Public Affairs Award for work on landlocked tidelands legislation. Thanks to the following members' efforts, NAIOP was able to lead this effort to preserve the exemption for landlocked tidelands from the chapter 91 licensing process:

- *Paula Devereaux, Rubin and Rudman LLP
- *Jamie Fay, Fort Point Associates, Inc.
- *Michael Leon, Nutter, McClennen & Fish, LLP
- *James Major, Allen & Major Associates, Inc.
- *Richard Nylen, Jr., Lynch, DeSimone & Nylen, LLP
- *James Shea, Jr., Edwards Angell Palmer & Dodge LLP

The Mass. chapter is grateful for the efforts of all of its members and looks forward to another busy and productive year in 2007!

New England Real Estate Journal - 17 Accord Park Drive #207, Norwell MA 02061 - (781) 878-4540