

New Connecticut legislative session brings new leadership

January 17, 2013 - Connecticut

When the CT General Assembly convened on January 9, there were some new leadership positions moving forward this session. A leading example of this is the incoming speaker of the house Brendan Sharkey (D-Hamden), who replaces outgoing speaker Chris Donovan. Rep. Peter Tercyak (D- New Britain) will co-chair labor and public employees, replacing Zeke Zalaski. Rep. Toni Walker (D-New Haven) will remain co-chair of the appropriations committee and Rep. Patricia Widlitz (D-Guilford) will stay as co-chair of the finance, revenue, and bonding committee. Meanwhile Rep. Linda Gentile (D-Ansonia) will be co-chairwoman of the environment committee. The new co chair of General Law will be Rep. David Baram of (D-Bloomfield) and Rep. Matt Ritter of (D-Hartford) will be the vice chair of the judiciary committee.

Over in the Senate, Sen. John Fonfara (D-Hartford) will be co-chair of revenue and tax policy committee. Sen. Bob Duff (D-Norwalk) becomes the co-chair of the energy and technology committee. Sen. Toni Harp (D-New Haven) stays as co-chair of the appropriations committee, which handles the spending side of the state budget. New Sen. Cathy Osten (D-Sprague) takes Edith Prague's longtime spot as co-chair of the public employees and labor committee. Meriden's new Senator Dante Bartholomew (D) will chair two committees: the select committee on children and the housing committee. Sen. Carlo Leone (D- Stamford) is to be chair of the banks committee and the select committee on Veterans Affairs.

Of note: there are 27 regular and select committees.

New England Real Estate Journal - 17 Accord Park Drive #207, Norwell MA 02061 - (781) 878-4540