CT Green Building Council’s newly elected board of directors take office at first meeting of the year

February 01, 2019 - Green Buildings

North Haven, CT The CT Green Building Council’s (CTGBC) newly elected board of directors took office at the organization’s first official meeting of the new year. The group also elected new officers for 2019.

CTGBC’s new board chairman is Wayne Cobleigh, having been elevated from vice chairman – a role he held for the previous two years. Cobleigh replaces Brian Dwyer, who served two three-year terms on the CTGBC Board and was the board chairman from 2017-2018. Ross Spiegel was elected vice chairman after having served as secretary from 2017-2018. Caroline DiDomenico is the new board secretary and Deborah Mingrone was elected treasurer.

Cobleigh, vice president of client services at GZA GeoEnvironmental, has been actively involved with CTGBC for 10 years and has served on the organization’s board of directors since 2014. In his time on the board, Cobleigh has played a key role in incorporating climate resilience and industry partnerships into CTGBC’s portfolio.

“2019 is a pivotal year for Connecticut and CTGBC members will continue to advocate for decisive action on achieving sustainable, resilient and equitable communities. We are part of the solution for building a low carbon economy in Connecticut and activating the report recommendations from the Governor’s Council on Climate Change. We agree with the GC3 members that by working together, we can achieve sustainable job growth by making a fundamental shift to zero-carbon electricity generation, clean transportation; and clean, efficient and resilient buildings,” said Cobleigh.

CTGBC welcomed two new board members, Emily Gordon and Adam Yarnell. Gordon is the program manager for the Stamford 2030 District and has a background in planning and sustainability. Yarnell is a sustainability consultant with Steven Winter Associates and has taken a leadership role, along with returning CTGBC board member Melissa Kops – an architect with Pirie Associates – on promoting the Living Building Challenge Collaborative in Connecticut.

The board of directors is elected directly by members of CTGBC. There are 15 members of the board who serve staggered three-year long terms. Each board member is limited to two consecutive terms on the board.

Ross Spiegel, an architect with the S/L/A/M Collaborative who had served two consecutive terms on the CTGBC board ending in December 2017, won a new term this year after taking a year off from the board while serving as secretary. DiDomenico and Kops won their bids for re-election to the board for second terms.

CTGBC is a chapter of the US Green Building Council (USGBC) which covers the state of Connecticut. They are committed to transforming the way their buildings are designed, constructed and operated through sustainable building practices.




Add Comment

More from the New England Real Estate Journal