CTGBC board members and officers begin term

March 06, 2020 - Green Buildings

New Haven, CT The CT Green Building Council’s (CTGBC) newly elected board of directors took office in January at the organization’s first official meeting of the new year. The group also elected new officers for 2020.

CTGBC’s new board chair is Ross Spiegel, having been elevated from vice chair – a role he held for the last year. Spiegel replaces Wayne Cobleigh, who served two three-year terms on the CTGBC board and was the board chair for 2019. Melissa Kops was elected vice chair, and will continue co-chairing both NESSBE and Advocacy Committees, as well as remaining co-facilitator of the CT Living Building Challenge Collaborative. Caroline DiDomenico was reelected board secretary and Deborah Mingrone was elected treasurer.

Spiegel, an architect with The S/L/A/M Collaborative who had served two consecutive terms on the CTGBC Board ending in December 2017, won a new term in 2019 after taking a year off from the board while serving as secretary. In his time on and off the board, Spiegel has played a key role in advocacy and elevating CTGBC’s presence at the state level.

2020 is the start of a new decade and CTGBC is poised to become a leading voice on sustainability and resiliency. CTGBC will expand its advocacy efforts while simultaneously growing its training and education programs to reach more members of the design and construction industry. At the same time CTGBC will continue to actively support the efforts of state government to address climate change and net zero energy. 

CTGBC also welcomed three new board members, Alysse Buzzelli, Nora Rizzo, and Kai Starn. Buzzelli has been with the CT Green Bank Industrial & Institutional Programs team since 2014, focusing on the C-PACE program by supporting and educating contractors and project developers on how C-PACE financing improve their business. Rizzo, director of sustainability at Fusco, is co-facilitator of the CT Living Building Challenge Collaborative and co-chairs the bi-annual NESSBE Committee, the Northeast Summit for a Sustainable Built Environment held in 2017 and 2019 at Yale University. Starn is a senior sustainability consultant with Steven Winter Associates and has a background in timber construction and LEED certifications.

Sheri Dieso of Bryant Dieso and Nick Jones of Eversource Energy won their bids for re-election to the board for second terms.

The board of directors is elected directly by members of CTGBC. There are 15 members of the board who serve staggered three-year long terms. Each board member is limited to two consecutive terms on the board.

The full list of the CTGBC Board of Directors can be found at www.ctgbc.org/board.php. 



Add Comment