IFMA Boston presents the winners of 2016 Awards of Excellence

June 03, 2016 - Owners Developers & Managers

Boston, MA The Boston chapter of the International Facility Management Association (IFMA), a non-profit association dedicated to serving the facility management profession, names the winners of the 2016 Awards of Excellence.

Lifetime Achievement Award: Suzanne Kennedy, CFM, Wentworth Institute of Technology (retired)

The Lifetime Achievement Award is a special award given periodically to acknowledge someone from the facilities management community that has made a lifelong positive impact on the profession, the community, and/or IFMA Boston.

You Make it Happen Award: Meagan O’Hara, Fort Point Project Management

The “You Make it Happen” award is given in recognition of service to the IFMA chapter that goes above and beyond expectations, and makes a substantial impact on the membership and success of the organization.

President’s Award: Joe Flynn, CFM, LEED AP, Margulies Perruzzi Architects

The President’s Award recognizes an individual who is passionate about what they do—either as a leader from within or outside the IFMA Boston chapter. They go beyond what is asked of them and give it their all.

Exemplary Service Provider Award: Steven Fox, Fort Point Project Management

This award is presented to the representative of an associate member in recognition of voluntary contributions to IFMA Boston. These contributions may include sponsoring programs or educational offerings, presenting innovative sessions on FM-related topics, sponsoring educational research or scholarships, providing technical assistance to members, or serving as chapter or council officers or committee members. Nominees must be associate members who recognize that IFMA is a forum for the interchange of ideas with members.

Exemplary End User: Melodee Wagen, MCR, Workspace Strategies, Inc.

The Exemplary End User Award is presented to a professional member of the Boston chapter who has provided sustained, outstanding leadership to the chapter. This person is highly valued by his or her company, IFMA, and the facility management profession. This individual keeps current on changes in the facility management profession and educates other IFMA members and peers. Recipients demonstrate the best in leadership and ethics.

Emerging Leader Award: Charisse Smith, Dyer Brown Architects

This award is presented to a Boston chapter IFMA member who has been an active member within the chapter and shows initiative in both their work and professional settings. They go above and beyond in their efforts with skilled execution and follow through and motivate others to participate.

Education & Professional Development Award: Tom Kane, Bentley University

The Education and Professional Development Award is presented to a Boston chapter IFMA member demonstrating exceptional support of professional development in their organization and/or facility management community. The member receiving this award consistently presents or plans outstanding programs designed to meet the needs of facility management professionals, provides career support, designs professional development seminars or classes and champions CFM certification.

Facilities Management Achievement Awards for Best Practices

These awards are presented to the individual or team whose facility management program, project, system, innovation, or idea has had a substantial, positive effect on the success of their organization. The recipient demonstrated how their project impacted business objectives and contributed to improved success. The award winners demonstrated innovation, and their achievements will be used to educate other facility management professionals. This award is intended to honor those who achieve “above and beyond” the normal scope of job responsibilities.

• Sustainability: Oracle- 6 Van de Graaff (nominated by SGA)

• Small Project (<25,000 s/f): Codman Academy Charter Public School, Lithgow Building Renovation (nominated by VVA Sweett Project Managers & Consultants)

• Medium Project (25,000 – 75,000 s/f): athenahealth: West Side Renovation (nominated by Wise Construction)

• Large Project (>75,000 s/f): Blue Cross Blue Shield of MA (nominated by Creative Office Pavilion + Elkus Manfredi Architects)

• Large Project (>75,000 s/f): Osram Americas Corporate Headquarters, (nominated by Sasaki Associates, Commodore Builders and VVA Sweett).

People’s Choice Award: St. Joseph Preparatory High School (Nominated by Timberline Construction)

The entire A/E/C community was welcome to vote online for their choice for People’s Choice during one week in April. This year more than 1,500 people cast their vote.

Established in 1980, the IFMA is a non-profit, incorporated association dedicated to serving the facility management profession. The international organization provides education, research, publications, events, and alliances with other related associations and organizations.

The Boston chapter of IFMA was founded in 1984 by ten facility managers.

Today the chapter numbers nearly 700 members, making it the second largest chapter in the world and long recognized as one of the most active and progressive chapters. For additional information, visit



Add Comment

More from the New England Real Estate Journal